City of Kerma

The city of Kerma is the capital of the first Kingdom of Kush. During its heyday, the kingdom’s territory extended from the First to the Fifth cataracts.

The city was excavated by the Swiss archaeological mission between 1977 and 2002, revealing the complexity of its planning. The city was founded around 2500 B.C., possibly following the abandonment of the Pre-Kerma agglomeration located four kilometres east, due to the silting up of several Nile channels. However, the continuity between the Pre-Kerma agglomeration and the city of Kerma has yet to be demonstrated.

As early as the Early Kerma period, the city develops around a primitive sanctuary and its annexes. A series of cult places situated in the same location for almost a thousand years leads to the development of a complex religious quarter comprised of chapels, magazines, and workshops. The numerous modifications attest to the area’s vitality. The ruins of the western deffufa, centre of religious power, stand almost 20 feet high and still dominate the city today. The seat of political power, on the other hand, is within the palace located 50 metres south-east. It comprises a large circular “hut” (14 m diameter) that must have served as audience chamber or stateroom for the king.

The city is protected by walls, bastions and trenches, modified as it expanded. During the Middle Kerma period, it fits within a square approximately 170 x 170 metres and possesses six differently oriented entrances. During the Classic Kerma, expansions modify the city’s configuration, and at the end of this period, the city covers more than 20 hectares. While an important avenue goes through the city, the paths that lead to its centre are nothing but narrow passages. Generally, houses are comprised of two groups of rectangular buildings divided by a courtyard. The more spacious houses are near the paths leading to the city’s centre and most possess a courtyard with a winding wall, where the kitchens, silos and domestic annexes are located.

The identification of the well-defined quarters confirms the singular status of this metropolis, probably reserved for the royal elite and the ruling class. The Nubian sovereigns maintained the kingdom’s independence against its conquering Egyptian neighbour for almost a thousand years. The Kingdom of Kerma ends around 1450 B.C. with the conquest of Kush by the Eighteenth Dynasty pharaohs, notably Thutmosis III. They destroyed and condemned the capital and founded a new city 1 km further north, on the site of Dukki Gel.

For further information, read the publications of C. Bonnet.

Ville de Kerma

La ville de Kerma est la capitale du premier royaume de Kouch, dont le territoire s’étendait, à son apogée, de la Première à la Cinquième cataracte.

La ville a été fouillée entre 1977 et 2002 par la mission archéologique suisse au Soudan qui mit en évidence toute la complexité de son organisation. La ville a été fondée vers 2500 av. J.-C., peut-être suite à l’abandon de l’agglomération Pré-Kerma, située quatre kilomètres à l’est, en raison de l’assèchement de plusieurs bras du Nil. Cependant, la continuité entre l'agglomération Pré-Kerma et la ville de Kerma n'est pour l'instant pas démontrée.

Elle se développe dès le Kerma ancien autour d’un sanctuaire primitif et de ses dépendances. La succession des lieux de culte sur ce même emplacement durant près de mille ans conduit au développement d’un quartier religieux complexe, composé de chapelles, de magasins et d’ateliers, qui connaît de nombreux remaniements attestant de sa vitalité. Aujourd’hui encore, les ruines de la Deffufa occidentale, centre du pouvoir religieux, atteignent près de 20 mètres de haut et dominent la ville. Le siège du pouvoir politique se trouve quant à lui dans le palais situé à 50 mètres au sud-ouest. Il comprend une "grande hutte" circulaire (14 mètres de diamètre) qui devait servir pour le roi de salle d’audience ou d’apparat.

La ville est protégée par des murs, des bastions et des fossés modifiés au gré de son expansion. Au Kerma moyen, elle s’inscrit dans un carré d’environ 170 x 170 mètres et est dotée de six accès orientés de toutes parts. Au Kerma classique, des extensions modifient la configuration de la ville. A la fin de cette époque, elle atteint plus de 20 hectares. Si une importante avenue la traverse, les voies d’accès qui conduisent au centre sont essentiellement des passages étroits. Les maisons sont le plus souvent constituées de deux corps de bâtiments rectangulaires séparés par une cour. Les plus spacieuses se trouvent proches des voies menant au centre de la ville, et sont presque toutes pourvues d’une cour, aux murs parfois sinueux, où sont installés les cuisines, les silos et quelques annexes domestiques.

L’identification de quartiers bien différenciés confirme le statut particulier de cette métropole, probablement réservée à l’élite royale et à la classe dirigeante. Les souverains nubiens ont maintenu l’indépendance du royaume pendant près de mille ans face à leur conquérant voisin égyptien. Le royaume de Kerma prend fin vers 1450 av. J.-C. avec la conquête de Kouch par les pharaons de la XVIIIe dynastie, notamment Touthmosis III. Ils détruisent la capitale, la condamnèrent et fondèrent une nouvelle ville à 1 km plus au nord, sur le site de Doukki Gel.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les publications de C. Bonnet.