El-Barga

El-Barga reveals one of the most important necropoleis of the early Holocene in Africa.

This site was discovered in 2001 during a survey concentrating on the zones bordering the alluvial plain. The name el-Barga is borrowed from a nearby mountain. The site is located on an elevation formed by an outcrop of bedrock (Nubian sandstone) less than 15 km from the Nile, as the crow flies. It includes a settlement area dated to circa 7500 B.C. and cemeteries belonging to two distinct periods.

The habitation is a circular hut slightly less than five metres in diameter, its maximum depth exceeding 50 centimetres. This semi-subterranean structure contained a wealth of artefacts resulting from the site’s occupation (ceramics, grinding tools, flint objects, ostrich eggshell beads, a mother-of-pearl pendant, bone tools, faunal remains, shells). The abundance of artefacts discovered suggests a marked inclination towards a sedentary lifestyle, even though certain activities (fishing and hunting) necessitate seasonal migration.

North of this habitation, about forty burials were dated to the Epipalaeolithic (7700-7000 B.C.) and generally do not contain any furnishings. On the other hand, the Neolithic cemetery (6000-5500 B.C.) located further south comprises about a hundred burials often containing artefacts (adornment, ceramics, flint or bone objects).

 For further information, read the publications of M. Honegger

El-Barga

El-Barga livre une des plus importantes nécropoles du début de l'Holocène en Afrique. 

Ce site a été découvert en 2001 lors d'une prospection centrée sur les zones situées en bordure de plaine alluviale. Le terme El-Barga est emprunté au nom d'une montagne proche. Le site se trouve sur une élévation formée par une résurgence du substrat rocheux (grès nubien), à un peu moins de quinze kilomètres à vol d'oiseau du Nil. Il est composé d'une zone d'habitation datée des environs de 7500 av. J.-C. et de cimetières appartenant à deux périodes distinctes.

L'habitat est une cabane subcirculaire d'un peu moins de cinq mètres de diamètre, dont la profondeur maximale dépasse les cinquante centimètres. Cette structure semi-enterrée contenait un riche mobilier résultant de l'occupation du lieu (céramique, matériel de mouture, objets en silex, perles en coquille d'autruche, pendentif en nacre, armatures en os, restes de faune, coquillages). La densité importante des artefacts découverts suggère une nette tendance à la sédentarisation, même si certaines activités impliquaient une mobilité saisonnière (chasse, pêche).

Au nord de cet habitat, une quarantaine d'inhumations ont été datées de l'Epipaléolithique (7700-7000 av. J.-C.) et ne comportaient généralement pas de mobilier. En revanche, le cimetière néolithique (6000-5500 av. J.-C.) situé au sud comprend une centaine d'inhumations contenant souvent des artefacts (parures, céramiques, objets en silex ou en os).

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les publications de M. Honegger