The Mission’s Goals

General Goals

Origin of the City

The mission’s first goal is to develop a scientific study of the Kerma region, particularly of the urbanisation process in this central area of Nubia. Each year, excavations are conducted at several prehistoric and historic sites.

Social Complexification

Research at Epipalaeolithic, Neolithic, Pre-Kerma and Kerma sites allow us to develop scenarios involving social and economic transformations that took place during the millennia and eventually lead to the development of the Kingdom of Kush. Sedentary lifestyle, livestock farming, agriculture, population growth, social disparity and the birth of the first cities are all essential elements in the understanding of dynamics of the Kerma region.

Protection of Cultural Heritage

The mission also participates in the protection of the most important remains in the region, notably those of cities of Kerma and Dukki Gel, where were discovered the statues of the “Black Pharaohs.” These sites necessitate important conservation work in order to make them accessible to the public and preserve them for future generations. The goal of the Kerma Museum is to present to a wide audience the region’s rich cultural heritage.

 

Site Specific Goals

Dukki Gel : The goal is to understand the planning and the development of the religious quarter as well as the evolution of the fortification system that surrounds it. The study of this site allows the reconstruction of the different stages of the Egyptian conquest and the transition between the fall of the Kingdom of Kerma and the New Kingdom. It also helps understand the city’s development during the Napatan and Meroitic periods (8th century B.C. – 4th century A.D.).

City of Kerma : Various scientific analyses conducted after the excavation of the city, completed in 2002, enabled the understanding of the urbanisation process of the Kingdom of Kush. A book reconstructing the city’s history is currently in preparation.

Eastern Cemetery of Kerma : The renewed excavations of the Early Kerma, located in the northern area of the necropolis, have for goal the understanding of the kingdom’s origins and its relations with the C-Group. It shall also contribute to our understanding of the workings of an entirely excavated sector as well as allow the completion of the general catalogue of the necropolis, currently in preparation.

Pre-Kerma : Excavations will continue in order to trace the enclosure wall, which reveals the extent of the agglomeration. Surveys within the cemetery as well as in the region will enable the identification of settlements and burials linked to this culture.

El-Barga : Excavations were concluded in January 2008. The goal is now to publish the Epipalaeolithic hut as well as the Epipalaeolithic and Neolithic cemeteries.

Wadi El-Arab : The goal is to study the settlement dynamics of the region at the onset of the Holocene. The deposit’s main feature is its series of stratified occupations that span two millennia (8200-6200 B.C.). This site also reveals important information concerning the origins of pastoralism in Africa.

Busharia : The site’s main interest is its date and the fact that its contains ceramics. Indeed, it is the oldest pottery production known in Sudan (8300 B.C.). Extending the excavation area shall provide more information regarding this context and the possible relations with contemporaneous Saharan pottery.

Objectifs de la mission

Objectifs généraux

L'origine de la ville

Le premier objectif de la mission est de développer une étude scientifique sur la région de Kerma, notamment sur les processus d'urbanisation dans ce secteur central de la Nubie. Elle mène chaque année des fouilles sur plusieurs sites d'époques préhistorique et historique.

La complexification de la société

Les recherches sur les sites épipaléolithiques, néolithiques, Pré-Kerma et Kerma permettent d'élaborer de véritables scénarios sur les principales transformations sociales et économiques qui interviennent au cours des millénaires, et qui conduisent au développement du royaume de Kouch. Sédentarité, élevage, agriculture, croissance démographique, inégalités sociales et émergence des premières cités sont des éléments essentiels pour comprendre la dynamique de la région de Kerma.

La sauvegarde du patrimoine

La mission contribue également à la sauvegarde des vestiges les plus importants de la région, notamment ceux des villes de Kerma et de Doukki Gel, où ont été découvertes les statues des "Pharaons noirs". Ces sites exigent d'importants travaux de restauration, afin de les rendre accessibles au public et de les préserver pour les générations futures. Le Musée de Kerma a pour mission de rendre visible à un large public la richesse du patrimoine de la région.  

 

Objectifs spécifiques, propres à chaque site fouillé

Doukki Gel : Il s'agit de comprendre l'organisation et le développement du quartier religieux, ainsi que l'évolution des systèmes de fortifications qui le ceinturent. L'étude de ce site permet de retracer les différentes étapes de la conquête égyptienne et la transition entre la fin du royaume de Kerma et le début du Nouvel Empire. Elle permet aussi de saisir le développement de la ville au cours des périodes napatéennes et méroïtiques (8e s. av. J.-C. - 4e s. ap. J.-C.). 

Ville de Kerma : Les divers travaux scientifiques qui ont succédé à la fouille de la ville, achevée en 2002, ont déjà permis de saisir l'urbanisation de la capitale du royaume Kouch. Un livre retraçant l'histoire de la ville est actuellement en préparation.

Cimetière oriental de Kerma : La reprise des fouilles du Kerma Ancien, dans la partie septentrionale de la nécropole, vise à saisir les origines du royaume et les relations avec le groupe C.. Elle permettra également de comprendre le fonctionnement d'un secteur fouillé intégralement et de compléter le catalogue général sur la nécropole, actuellement en préparation.

Pré-Kerma : Les fouilles se poursuivent dans le but de suivre l'enceinte, révélatrice de l'extension de l'agglomération. Des prospections sur le cimetière et dans la région ont également pour objectif d'identifier d'autres habitats ou sépultures liés à cette culture.

El-Barga : Les fouilles se sont terminées en janvier 2008. L'objectif est maintenant de se consacrer à la publication de la cabane épipaléolithique d'une part, et des cimetières épipaléolithique et néolithique d'autre part.

Wadi El-Arab : L'objectif est d'étudier la dynamique de peuplement au début de l'Holocène dans la région. L'intérêt principal du gisement est de livrer une succession d'occupations stratifiées couvrant deux millénaires (8200-6200 av. J.-C.). Ce site livre notamment des informations précieuses sur les origines du pastoralisme en Afrique.

Boucharia : L'intérêt majeur du site réside dans sa datation et dans le fait qu'il livre de la céramique. Il s'agit en effet de la plus ancienne production de poterie connue au Soudan (8300 av. J.-C.). L'extension de la zone fouillée fournira de plus amples informations sur le contexte et sur les relations possibles avec les poteries sahariennes contemporaines.