Museography

The museum aims to retrace the history and prehistory of the region. It is included in a tour of the three major archaeological sites of the area: Dukki Gel, the city of Kerma and the eastern necropolis. In fact, the entrance faces the western deffufa and it thus gives visitors easy access to the ancient city located a few steps away.

Statues

The museum’s exhibition gallery covers a surface of approximately 500 square metres. A corridor opens onto a wide central hall that in turn gives way to a series of smaller rooms. The central hall comprises columns and a 70 cm high podium, where are displayed the statues of the black pharaohs. A white wall serves as backdrop in order to highlight them.

The first step of the exhibition project to display the statues started in June 2006. Scenographer Pierre-Alain Bertola and graphic designer Laurent Bonnet took over the staging, first by creating a drawing, then a canvas that was placed where these exceptional works would be displayed. The second step took place during winter 2006-2007 and consisted of the restoration of these statues and their installation on the platform.

Didactic Panels

A first series of panels introducing the museum is displayed on a side of this central space, while a second describing the discovery of the statues is affixed to the other side. These 16 bilingual (Arabic and English) didactic panels were designed in Switzerland. Measuring between one to two metres square, these panels present by means of large photographs, tables and texts the different cultures that have developed in the region. One panel was designed for each of the main periods (Prehistory, Kingdom of Kerma, Kingdom of Napata and Meroe), delving deeper in the understanding of cultural evolution.

Cases

The museum includes forty cases, designed in Switzerland and created in Khartoum during 2006 by a small specialized firm. They measure 220 cm in height by 170 cm in width, their depth either 30 cm or 60 cm depending on the size of objects displayed. At the end of 2006, the cases were sent in pieces to the Kerma Museum together with technicians who would assemble them. During 2007-2008, these were installed in the galleries and the archaeological objects placed within them. This incredibly rich collection of artefacts is entirely dedicated to the prehistory and history of the Kerma region. With it, it is possible to illustrate the human evolution of Sudan’s Northern Province over hundreds of thousands of years.

Scale Models

Three scale models—of the Mesolithic hut of el-Barga (7500 B.C.), the proto-urban agglomeration of the Pre-Kerma (3000 B.C.) and the ancient city of Kerma (2500-1500 B.C.)—give a glimpse of the world of the living. They show the evolution of settlements for each of the key periods in Nubian history. Huts indicate the birth of a sedentary way of life, the agglomeration confirms the settling of populations on a territory and the capital of the Kingdom of Kerma marks the culmination of the complexification of Nubian architecture with its ever more monumental constructions. The three models were created in Switzerland by Hugo Lienhard and were installed in the museum in January 2009.

Reconstructions

Life-size reconstructions present three tombs dated to different periods. They retrace the evolution and the complexification of funerary rituals, highlighting the beliefs surrounding the dead. Created with materials from the sites themselves and from known models, these scenes are the reconstructions of burials observed during excavations.

Blocks

Galleries dedicated to the Napatan and Meroitic periods highlight the numerous fragments of painted or carved blocks. Discovered during the Dukki Gel excavations et stored for several years in the hangars near the site, they are now visible, having been carefully placed by Dominique Valbelle on shelves created specifically for their display. Statuettes and stone or terracotta figurines are also displayed in the New Kingdom vitrines.

Muséographie

Le musée vise à retracer l'histoire et la préhistoire de la région. Il est intégré dans un "circuit" reliant les trois principaux sites archéologiques des environs: Doukki Gel, la ville de Kerma et la nécropole orientale. L'entrée principale est d'ailleurs siturée face à la deffufa occidentale, il est ainsi aisé pour le visiteur d'accéder à la ville antique située à quelques pas.

Les statues

La salle d’exposition du musée couvre une surface d’environ 500 mètres carrés. L'accès se fait par un couloir débouchant sur une vaste halle centrale qui donne sur une série de salles aux dimensions plus réduites. Elle est composée de colonnes et d’un podium de 70 cm de hauteur, où sont installées les statues des pharaons noirs. Un mur blanc a été édifié à l'arrière pour mieux les faire ressortir.

La première étape du projet de présentation des statues a démarré en juin 2006. Le scénographe Pierre-Alain Bertola et le graphiste Laurent Bonnet ont pris en charge la mise en scène, réalisant un dessin puis une toile qui fut disposée à l’endroit destiné à accueillir ces pièces exceptionnelles. La deuxième étape, effectuée sur place durant l'hiver 2006-2007, consistait à restaurer ces pièces et à les installer sur leur podium.

Les panneaux

Une première série de panneaux présentant une introduction au musée est fixée sur une paroi de cet espace central, tandis qu'une autre série expliquant la découverte des statues est disposée sur l'autre. Les 16 panneaux explicatifs bilingues (arabe-anglais) ont été conçus en Suisse. Ils mesurent de un mètre carré à deux mètres carré. Ils présentent, sous forme de grandes photographies, de tableaux et de textes, les différentes cultures qui se sont développées dans la région. Un panneau a été réalisé pour chaque grande période (Préhistoire, Royaume de Kerma, Royaumes de Napata et Méroé), permettant d’avancer plus profondément dans la connaissance de l’évolution culturelle.

Les vitrines

Le musée compte au total quarante vitrines, conçues en Suisse et réalisées à Khartoum durant l’année 2006 par une petite entreprise spécialisée. Elles mesurent 220 cm de hauteur pour 170 cm de largeur, leur profondeur est soit de 30 cm soit de 60 cm selon la taille des objets présentés. A la fin de l'année 2006, les vitrines ont été envoyées en pièces détachées au musée de Kerma, avec des techniciens chargés de leur montage. Durant l'année 2007-2008, elles ont été installées dans les salles et les objets archéologiques disposés à l'intérieur. La riche collection d’objets archéologiques du musée est entièrement destinée à la préhistoire et à l’histoire de la région de Kerma. Elle permet de montrer l’évolution humaine de la province du nord soudan sur plusieurs centaines de milliers d’années.

Les maquettes

Les trois maquettes de la hutte mésolithique d’El-Barga (7500 av. J.-C.), de l’agglomération proto-urbaine du Pré-Kerma (3000 av. J.-C.) et de la ville antique de Kerma (2500-1500 av. J.-C.) donnent un aperçu du monde des vivants. Elles montrent l’évolution de l’habitat pour chacune de ces périodes-clés de la préhistoire nubienne. Les huttes indiquent le début de la sédentarisation dans la région, l’agglomération confirme la fixation des populations sur un territoire et la capitale du royaume de Kerma marque quant à elle l’aboutissement de cette complexification de l’architecture nubienne, avec des constructions de plus en plus monumentales. Les trois maquettes ont été fabriquées en Suisse par Hugo Lienhard et ont été installées dans le musée en janvier 2009.

Les reconstitutions

Des reconstitutions grandeur nature permettent de présenter trois tombes d’époques différentes. Elles retracent l’évolution et la complexification des rituels funéraires, mettant en évidence les croyances qui entourent la mort. Réalisées à l’aide de matériau provenant des sites eux-mêmes et à partir de modèles connus, elles sont la reproduction de sépultures observées en fouille.

 

Les blocs

Les espaces réservés aux époques napatéenne et méroïtique mettent en valeur les nombreux fragments de blocs gravés ou peints. Découverts lors des fouilles de la ville de Doukki Gel et entreposés durant plusieurs années dans les hangars situés à proximité du site, ils sont désormais visibles, soigneusement disposés par Dominique Valbelle sur des étagères spécialement conçus pour les accueillir. Des statuettes et figurines en pierre ou en terre cuite sont aussi présentées dans les vitrines du Nouvelle Empire.