Kingdom of Kerma

The Kingdom of Kerma, a Nubian culture that emerged late in the fourth millennium B.C., will dominate Upper Nubia for almost a thousand years.

Kerma owes its name to the modern city located south of the Third Cataract, on the east bank of the Nile, where are found the most important remains of this civilisation: the kingdom’s capital and its eastern necropolis. Two imposing sites, these span between 2500 and 1500 B.C. American scholar George A. Reisner, known as the father of Sudanese archaeology, discovered during his excavations (1913-1916) the remains of a unique culture. Since then, numerous other sites located between the First and Fifth cataracts have yielded important information regarding this culture. Nonetheless, the most important site remains that of Kerma itself, the capital of the kingdom, with its city and necropolis.

In the Kingdom of Kerma, writing is unknown; Egyptian texts refer to it as Kush. Its inhabitants prospered by livestock farming (bovines and caprines), exploiting of vegetable resources as well as hunting and fishing. Trade (gold, precious stones, ivory, animal hide, ebony, cattle) also contributed to the city’s wealth, due to its location in the centre of a fertile basin and at the crossroads of desert routes linking Egypt, the Red Sea and the heart of Africa. The Nubians, known to be shrewd warriors and talented archers, cared to protect themselves from enemy raids. They built trenches, palisades and fairly strong enclosure walls with numerous bastions.

Based on ceramic materials discovered in the cemeteries on Sai Island and at Kerma, three chronological periods can be distinguished: Early Kerma (circa 2450-2050 B.C.), Middle Kerma (circa 2050-1750 B.C.) and Classic Kerma (circa 1750-1480 B.C.). A fourth period, called Final Kerma, denotes the transition between the end of the kingdom and the Egyptian occupation (circa 1480-1450 B.C.).

Classic Kerma is the most glorious period the kingdom has known. The influence of its rulers spreads even to Lower Nubia and an alliance proposed by a Hyksos king of the Fifteenth Dynasty, around 1580 B.C., corroborates the kingdom’s importance on the political scene. Monumental and large-scale works are undertaken in the city and the necropolis. The western deffufa now resembles an Egyptian temple and a port is established south of the city. Two large temples of more than 40 m tall are erected in the necropolis, where the last royal tumuli clearly demonstrate the power of the kings. The kingdom’s collapse is undoubtedly hastened by this conspicuous display of wealth, coveted by northern neighbours, as well as the overexploitation of soils and an increased desertification.

For further information, read the publications of C. Bonnet (archaeology) and L. Chaix (archaeozoology and anthropology). 

Archaeological sites : the city and the necropolis of Kerma

Royaume de Kerma

Le royaume de Kerma, issu des cultures nubiennes de la fin du IVe millénaire avant J.-C., dominera la Haute Nubie pendant près de mille ans.

Kerma doit son nom à la bourgade moderne située au sud de la Troisième cataracte, sur la rive orientale du Nil. Il s'y trouve les vestiges les plus importants de cette civilisation, à savoir la capitale du royaume et sa nécropole orientale, deux sites très vastes dont la durée s'étend entre 2500 et 1500 av. J.-C. Le chercheur américain, George A. Reisner, considéré comme le père de l’archéologie soudanaise, révéla lors de ses fouilles (1913-1916) les vestiges d’une culture tout à fait originale. Depuis, bien d’autres sites découverts entre les Première et Cinquième cataractes sont venus compléter les témoignages de cette culture. Le plus important reste néanmoins celui de Kerma, capitale du royaume, avec sa ville et sa nécropole contemporaine.

Le royaume de Kerma ne connaît pas l'écriture ; il est désigné dans les textes égyptiens par le nom de Kouch. Les habitants vivaient de l’élevage des bovins et caprins, de l’exploitation des ressources végétales, de la chasse et de la pêche. Le commerce (or, pierres précieuses, ivoire, peaux d’animaux, ébène, bétail) a également contribué à la prospérité de la ville qui se trouve au centre d’un bassin fertile, à la croisée des pistes reliant l’Egypte, la Mer Rouge et le cœur de l’Afrique. Dès sa fondation, les Nubiens qui avaient la réputation d’être des guerriers avisés et d’habiles archers, ont eu le souci de se prémunir contre des incursions ennemies. Ils construisirent des fossés, des palissades et des murs d’enceinte plus ou moins puissants dotés de nombreux bastions.

Trois périodes chronologiques ont été distinguées sur la base du matériel céramique découvert dans les cimetières de l'île de Saï et de Kerma : le Kerma ancien (environ 2450-2050 av. J.-C.), le Kerma moyen (environ 2050-1750 av. J.-C.) et le Kerma classique (environ 1750-1480 av. J.-C.). Une quatrième période, appelée Kerma final, marque la transition entre la fin du royaume et l’occupation égyptienne (environ 1480-1450 av. J.-C.). 

La période du Kerma classique est la plus brillante qu’ait connu le royaume. L’influence de ses souverains s’étend jusqu’en Basse Nubie et la proposition d’alliance du roi hyksos de la XVe dynastie, vers 1580 av. J.-C., renforce leur importance sur la scène politique. Ils entreprennent des travaux de grande ampleur dans la ville et la nécropole. La Deffufa occidentale a désormais l’apparence d’un temple égyptien et un quartier portuaire au sud de la ville est construit. Deux grands temples de plus de 40 mètres sont édifiés dans la nécropole, où les derniers tumuli royaux deviennent de véritables manifestes de la puissance des souverains. La chute du royaume est sans doute accélérée par cette démonstration de richesse ostentatoire qui attisa les convoitises de ses voisins du nord, ainsi que par une surexploitation des sols et une désertification croissante.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les publications de C. Bonnet (archéologie) et de L. Chaix (archéozoologie et anthropologie). 

Sites archéologiques : Ville et nécropole de Kerma