Egyptian Occupation

The city of Dukki Gel is founded by the pharaohs of the Eighteenth Dynasty of Egypt.

The Egyptian conquest of the Kingdom of Kush is carried out by one of the most illustrious New Kingdom pharaohs, Thutmosis I (1496-1483 B.C.). After having recaptured the forts of Lower Nubia and seized Kerma, he establishes a new city one kilometre north of the latter, at the site of Dukki Gel. Egyptian influence over this region south of the Third Cataract is not truly felt until the reign of Thutmosis III (1479-1424 B.C.).

The Nubians must leave their homes, often burnt during the conquest. Several settle at Soleb, Sesebi, Tabo, Kawa or at the foot of Gebel Barkal. Our understanding of the transition from the Kerma cultures to the Egyptian occupation is made difficult due to numerous conflicts between indigenous populations and the new settlers. The administration of the country is given to a viceroy, who bears the title “King’s Son of Kush,” although a certain authority is left to the local elite. Indeed, a policy of Egyptianisation is quickly launched. The children of the defeated chiefs are thus sent to Egypt in order to be educated in Pharaoh’s court.

Today, the city of Dukki Gel is partially buried under a palm grove, which makes impossible an exhaustive study of its development. Available landmarks, however, allow a comparison of its proportions to other Egyptian cities in Nubia. Interpretation of the religious quarter proves complex; our understanding of early buildings is complicated by restorations and constructions dated to the later Napatan or Meroitic periods. Projects commissioned by pharaohs of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth dynasties are evidenced by the various foundation deposits discovered at temples within the precinct. One of these temples was dedicated to the god Amun.

The city’s enclosure wall is abandoned in stages at the end of the Ramesside period (around the 11th century B.C.). Egypt, more preoccupied with the Mediterranean, loses control of Nubia. For the next three centuries, the history of Middle and Upper Nubia is obscure. Nubian history shines again with the emergence of a monarchy from the Napatan region, upstream from the Fourth Cataract.

For further information, read the publications of C. Bonnet.

Archaeological site : Dukki Gel

Occupation égyptienne

La ville de Doukki Gel est fondée par les pharaons de la XVIIIe dynastie égyptienne.

La conquête égyptienne du royaume de Kouch commence véritablement avec l’un des plus illustres pharaons du début du Nouvel Empire, Thoutmosis Ier (1496-1483 av. J.-C.). Après avoir repris les forteresses de Basse Nubie et s’être emparé de Kerma, il fonde une nouvelle ville à un kilomètre au nord de celle-ci, au lieu-dit Doukki Gel. L’emprise égyptienne sur la région du sud de la Troisième cataracte ne devient cependant effective qu’avec Thoutmosis III (1479-1424 av. J.-C.).

Les Nubiens doivent quitter leurs habitats, souvent incendiés lors de la conquête. Certains s’établissent à Soleb, Sesibi, Tabo, Kawa ou au pied du Gebel Barkal. Les troubles et les conflits nombreux qui interviennent entre autochtones et nouveaux arrivants rendent difficilement compréhensible la transition entre les cultures Kerma et l’occupation égyptienne. La gestion du pays est placée sous l’autorité d’un vice-roi qui porte le titre de « fils royal de Kouch », mais une partie du pouvoir est certainement accordée à l’élite locale. En effet, une politique d’égyptianisation est rapidement mise en place. Les enfants des chefs vaincus sont ainsi envoyés en Egypte, afin d’être éduqués à la cour.

La ville de Doukki Gel est aujourd’hui partiellement enfouie sous une palmeraie, rendant impossible une étude exhaustive de son développement. Les repères à notre disposition permettent toutefois de comparer ses proportions à celles des autres villes égyptiennes de Nubie. L’interprétation de son quartier religieux s’avère complexe, les restaurations ou constructions d’époques napaténne et méroïtique ne facilitant pas la lecture des maçonneries antérieures. Les dépôts de fondation des divers temples construits dans l’enceinte témoignent des différentes interventions commanditées par les pharaons des XVIIIe et XIXe dynasties égyptiennes. Il est certain qu’un des temples était dédié au dieu Amon.

L’enceinte de la ville est abandonnée par étapes à la fin de l’époque ramesside (vers le XIe siècle av. J.-C.). L’Egypte, davantage tournée vers la Méditerranée, perd le contrôle de la Nubie. L’histoire de la Moyenne et Haute Nubie demeure obscure durant les trois siècles qui suivent. Elle s’éclaire à nouveau avec l’émergence d’une royauté originaire de la région de Napata, en aval de la Quatrième cataracte.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les publications de C. Bonnet.

Site archéologique : Doukki Gel