Napata and Meroe

During its long history (spanning from 8th century B.C. to the 4th century A.D.), the Kingdom of Kush is divided into two periods—the Napatan and Meroitic periods—based on the location of the kingdom’s nerve centre.

During the 8th and 7th century B.C., Nubia experiences an extraordinary renaissance, under the impetus of powerful kings established in the Fourth Cataract region. Not only will they reclaim control over their ancestral lands, they will conquer Egypt. Around 730 B.C., Piankhy (also known as Piye), king of Napata, undertakes the pacification of Egypt, then prey to internal turmoil and Assyrian threats. He unifies the north and the south and thus establishes the Twenty-fifth Dynasty, often called the "Ethiopian" or Kushite dynasty. His successors reign over a vast empire spreading from the Egyptian Delta to the confluence of the Blue and White Niles for almost sixty years, from 713 to 656 B.C. These sovereigns of the Two Lands wear as symbol of their double royalty a diadem graced with two cobra-uraei.

Henceforth, kings are buried under pyramids, placed under the protection of the god Amun and use the Egyptian language, an obvious demonstration of Egyptianisation. Nonetheless, the place given the god Amun within Kushite religion is somewhat surprising, considering that he is worshipped in the form of a ram, an animal that played an important role in the Kerma culture. Monumental architectural projects are attributed to these pharaohs, whether in Egypt or in Sudan, like at Gebel Barkal, Sanam, Kawa or Tabo. The capital city is moved for strategic and religious reason from Kerma to Napata, at the foot of Gebel Barkal, the birthplace of the god Amun. Finally, the Kushite Dynasty falls under repeated assaults by the Assyrians and the kings of the Delta. During an expedition to Nubia under Psamtik II, the Egyptians try to eradicate all traces of these “black pharaohs.” Among other things, they destroy the royal statues erected in temples, the remains of which were found at Gebel Barkal at the onset of the 20th century and at Dukki Gel in 2003. In the aftermath of this expedition, the Kushite kings regain control over Nubia as the Kingdom of Napata, but they do not extend their power downstream from the Second Cataract.

During the 4th century B.C., the Nubian kings, concerned with threatening Egyptian armies and later with the Ptolemies and the Romans, decide to move their political centre to Meroe, south of the Fifth Cataract. This new location offers important strategic and economic benefits because the region is blessed with abundant rains and is located within a network of trade routes. Thus Meroe becomes the capital of a prosperous empire, its culture traditionally Nubian, but with a level of Egyptianisation among the elite.

This historiographic distinction between the “Kingdom of Napata" and the "Kingdom of Meroe" is rather arbitrary considering the cultural and political continuity between them. Moreover, it is difficult to analyse its evolution; while Meroitic writing has been deciphered, the language has yet to be understood.

For further information, read the publications of C. Bonnet.

Napata et Méroé

Le royaume de Kouch est divisé entre le courant du VIIIe siècle avant J.-C. et du IVe siècle après J.-C. en deux périodes dites napatéenne et méroïtique, d’après l’emplacement des centres respectifs du royaume.

Au cours du VIIIe et VIIe siècle av. J.-C., la Nubie connaît un renouveau extraordinaire, sous l’impulsion des puissants souverains kouchites établis dans la région de la Quatrième cataracte. Ils vont non seulement reprendre en main la destinée de leurs terres ancestrales, mais aussi celles de l’Egypte. Vers 730 av. J.-C., Piankhy (ou Piye), souverain de Napata, entreprend de pacifier l’Egypte en proie à des luttes intestines et aux menaces assyriennes. Il unifie le nord et le sud, inaugurant la XXVe dynastie, dite "éthiopienne" ou encore kouchite. Ses successeurs règneront pendant près de soixante ans, de 713 à 656 av. J.-C., sur un vaste empire s’étendant du Delta égyptien jusqu’au confluent du Nil blanc et du Nil bleu. Ces souverains des Deux-Terres portent un diadème orné de deux cobras-uræi, symboles de leur double royauté.

Désormais, les monarques se font enterrer sous des pyramides, se placent sous la protection du dieu Amon et utilisent la langue égyptienne, autant de manifestations témoignant de leur volonté d’égyptianisation. Néanmoins, la place occupée par le dieu Amon dans la religion kouchite de cette époque surprend peu, sachant qu’il est notamment vénéré sous la forme d’un bélier, animal tenant une place particulière dans la culture Kerma. Des réalisations architecturales de grande ampleur peuvent être attribuées à ces pharaons, que ce soit en Egypte ou au Soudan, comme à Gebel Barkal, Sanam, Kawa ou Tabo. De Kerma, la capitale s’est déplacée pour des raisons stratégiques et religieuses à Napata, au pied du Gebel Barkal, lieu de naissance du dieu Amon. Finalement, la dynastie kouchite tombe sous les assauts répétés des Assyriens et des rois du Delta. Lors d'une expédition en Nubie, sous l'égide de Psammétique II, les Égyptiens tentent de faire disparaître toute trace de ces "pharaons noirs". Ils détruisent, entre autres, les statues des souverains exposés dans les temples, dont les restes ont été retrouvés à Gebel Barkal au début du XXe siècle et à Doukki Gel en 2003. Suite à cette expédition, les rois kouchites reprennent le contrôle de la Nubie sous le nom de royaume de Napata, mais n'étendent pas leur pouvoir en aval de la 2e cataracte. 

Au cours du IVe siècle av. J.-C., le souci de se protéger des armées égyptiennes menaçantes, puis des Ptolémées et des Romains, conduira les souverains nubiens à transférer leur centre politique à Méroé, au sud de la Cinquième cataracte. Ce nouvel emplacement offre des avantages stratégiques et économiques importants, car la région se trouve dans un réseau de routes commerciales et bénéficient de pluies abondantes. Cette ville devient alors la capitale d’un empire particulièrement florissant, dont la culture issue des traditions nubiennes témoigne également de l’égyptianisation des élites.

La distinction historiographique entre "royaume de Napata" et "royaume de Méroé" est quelque peu artificielle, dans la mesure où tous deux s’inscrivent dans une continuité culturelle et  politique. Il est d’autant plus difficile d’en détailler l’évolution car si l’écriture méroïtique est déchiffrée, la langue est loin d'être comprise.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les publications de C. Bonnet.

Site archéologique : Doukki Gel